Uncategorized

Refreshed

Got this from today’s entry in the devotional that I’m currently using:

THE TEACHING OF ADVERSITY (exercpts)

God does not give us overcoming life – He gives us life as we overcome. The strain of life is what builds our strength. If there is no strain, there will be no strength. Are you asking God to give you life, liberty and joy? He cannot, unlewss you are willing to accept the strain. And once you face the strain, you will immediately get the strength. Overcome your own timidity and take the first step. Then God will give you nourishment – “To him who overcomes I will give to eat from the tree of life…” (Rev 2:7). If you completely give of yourself physically, you become exhausted. But when you give of yourself spiritually, you get more strength. God never gives us strength for tomorrow, or for the next hour, but only for the strain of the moment. Our temptation is to face adversities from the standpoint of our own common sense. But a saint can “be of good cheer” even when seemingly defeated by adversities, because victory is absurdly impossible to everyone, except God.

===================================

We had this really nice praise & worship in church last Sunday and the songs we sang are still ringing in my ears. Its been a while since I last sang with the choir and singing once more for the Lord (which is what my heart really wants) helped bring some perspective to the smorgasboard of activities that I’m into.

I had this epiphany this morning when I woke up: Even though I’m physically tired (it’s that time of the month when i just feel weak), I actually feel refreshed. I know and feel that God is empowering me to do the tasks beyond the strength I possess. I thank Him for this assurance that He has never left me all along. I thank Him for His promise of restoration.

While all of this activity is going on, I will praise Him…by doing my job smiling. And when all this is over, I will praise Him all the more. For carrying me through. Admittedly, I’ve minimal or no strength anymore. I’ll move by God’s strength henceforth. (Just as I should have always had in the first place).

Leave a Reply

