Uncategorized

Fight the good fight…finish the race…keep the faith.

Whatever your circumstance for today is, I hope this post somehow inspires you.  🙂 

Adopted from my livejournal blog at cpa-kam.livejournal.com :

This morning, I woke up with this text message from a former P&G officemate, "Good morning.  I checked out the Star.  Great inputs.  Election 101 article says that a typical young person is idealistic.  What causes the change as he grows old?"

I replied, "Thanks for checking it out!  🙂  I think, exposure causes the change.  If so, the challenge to every young person is how to strike the balance between the events / people that have now become a part of his reality & the vision / ideals that he originally possesses.  To do that, he has to remain steadfast to his standards, and remain resilient and relentless in pursuing them, creatively finding ways to make his vision a reality.  You know what, my thinking is that if I could find some like-minded young people and network with them, we could be accountable for each other and help encourage one another especially in times when one is so prone to be jaded by circumstance."

A couple of minutes later, after praying and opening my devotional and my bible, I was encouraged by today’s entry, which seemed to prod me on.  The words in the subject of this post, were adapted from 2 Tim 4:7, "I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith."   It is the key verse in today’s entry in my devotional.  I was struck when, upon opening my devotional, today’s entry spoke of steadfastness.  Below are excerpts from the entry:

"When D.L. Moody was  moving into old age, he was asked to grant permission for his biography, Moody refused, saying, "A man’s life should never be written while he is living.  What is important is how a man ends, not how he begins."

For better or worse, I have failed to follow that dictum.  My biography has been published.  Yet I agree with Moody that the way our lives end is the crucial test of authentic discipleship.  Only if we remain in a STEADFAST relationship with the Savior can we be confident not merely of entering heaven, but of obtaining the victor’s crown (1 Cor 9:25)

What will be the Lord”s appraisal of our lives?  Will someone evalutating us be able to say honestly that we continued to bear fruit in old age?  (Psalm 92:14).  Whatever vocation we pursue, with the help of the Holy Spirit we may be "steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord" (1 Cor 15:58)

Indeed!  As the song goes…

Oh, may all who come behind us find us faithful,
May the fire of our devotion light their way;
May the footprints that we leave,
And the lives we live inspire them to obey. 

Leave a Reply

