Uncategorized

The Future from an Eternal Perspective

I attended a discipleship group for the first time (in years) last night and I am just so glad to have accepted my friend’s invitation.  Whereas before, it was my mom, who being part of a discipleship group for more than a decade now, was "cajoling" me to also join one as well, I now search and desire to join a discipleship group out of my own will and volition.  I cannot explain all of the things the Lord has been doing in my life, mind and heart.  I did not even plan for these changes to take place in my thinking and desires, but the changes just take place as I respond to God’s continuing offer for me to draw closer to Him.  I only want to walk through roads where He is, for my heart needs to be where He is.  As He leads me, I shall walk.  I praise and thank Him for I know that the good work He has begun, He shall be faithful to complete – and that is what I look forward to.  

In last night’s Dgroup meeting, the message / main discussion was about future from an eternal perspective.  Even in this life or beyond, God has many promises that make our future certain.  We could be sure that our future is planned, it is good and with hope.  It is definite, safe and eternal.  

In line with that last point of an eternal, safe and definite future, in my quiet time this morning, I came across 2 Cor 5:1-10.  

  • Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. Meanwhile wegroan, longing to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, because when we are clothed, we will not be found naked.  For while we are in this tent, we groan and are burdened, because we do not wish to be unclothed but to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life.  Now it is God who has made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.  Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord.  We live by faith, not by sight.  We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.  So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.  For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.
  •  
  •  

From these verses, the following thoughts came to my mind: 

Our God is the good Shepherd, He knows all of our needs and His hand is never too short to save or provide for our daily bread and beyond.  All of our hopes and dreams are safe and secure in His hands, and He gives exceedingly, more abundantly than what we have hoped for or imagined.  He loves us and knows what is best for us.  In His sovereign knowledge of what is best for us, He also provides His blessings in the perfect season, just as He sees us through the many seasons of life.  This is our hope in our Lord and Savior, Christ Jesus.  But even if what we hoped for may not be made manifest in this world, we can be sure that He has prepared a place for us in the heavenly realms.  And that, in itself, is worthwhile to look forward to, making all earthly strivings and pursuits dim and miniature.  Indeed, the focal point, even in this temporal existence is eternity with God.  It is a promise that is sure and unshakeable.  

As He promised, in Psalm 37:4 (Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart)  He will really give the desires of our hearts when we delight ourselves in Him.  The focal point, however, is delighting in Him; the desires of our hearts should not even be part of the focus.  Delighting in Him, I just realized, calls for an eternal mindset, which could only be sustained through daily fellowship with Him.  Though there may be so many distractions in this world, I should not allow myself to be snatched away.  Instead I should remain secure in my God’s stubborn love and on the eternity He has set out for me.  These realizations I shall live out, by God’s grace, today and thereafter.    

Agenda for the day after QT: HIMYM time w/ hubby, cafe world, charivari, claim diploma, crossroads 77…looking forward to tonight’s divine appointment!  🙂

Leave a Reply

