Uncategorized

For the LORD God is a sun and shield…

this year, mike and i identified reading through the entire bible as one of our targets.  we consider the time that we read and listen to God’s word and share our insights then pray together as our couple’s devotional and bonding time.  sometimes we lag behind but through God’s grace, we try our best to catch up.  there are times that we don’t feel like doing it but we do so anyway, and the Lord has been blessing us with His presence and with His insights. 

from the readings, i am discovering a lot about myself, as well.  for example, the other day, the reading was about jacob facing esau again after his years in paddam aram.  through the text (and the commentary also highlighted) how jacob prayed believing and relying on God’s promises, yet he acted as if God spoke none.  ouch…that struck a bitter chord within me…kasi a lot of times, ganun din ako.  nakakahiya kay Lord. 

the past few days though, in my quiet time, God has been affirming some promises, which I am claiming and will be quoting below:

1.  From Psalm 16:5-11

 LORD, you have assigned me my portion and my cupyou have made my lot secure.   The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant placessurely I have a delightful inheritanceI will praise the LORD, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.  I have set the LORD always before me.   Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.  Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.  You have made known to me the path of life;  you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand

2.  Psalm 84:  5-12

Blessed are those whose strength is in you,  who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.   As they pass through the Valley of Baca,  they make it a place of springs; the autumn rains also cover it with pools.   They go from strength to strength, till each appears before God in Zion.  Hear my prayer, O LORD God Almighty;  listen to me, O God of Jacob.  Selah Look upon our shield, O God; look with favor on your anointed one. Better is one day in your courts  than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.  For the LORD God is a sun and shield;  the LORD bestows favor and honor;  no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.

i claim these promises as i live this life.  i claim these promises as i await the bar results, as we hunt for a house, prepare for a baby, and expect more blessings so others could also be blessed through us.  i hold on to these promises as i face what this new day brings me.  🙂

Leave a Reply

