family ties

10 Commandments for a Responsible Dog Owner

My mom, a vet, sent this to me via FB a couple of days ago, knowing how “in love” hubby and I are with our dogs.  Since we don’t have real children of our own yet, we treat our dogs like babies.  No wonder our “babies” feel like they’re real humans too.  I’ve been kidding my Mom nga na sila muna ang “apo” nya for now. Hehe.

Though we love our dogs very much, I do acknowledge that pet dogs come and go, sadly.  They only stay with us for a while.

I still remember our first dog, Twinkle, a pure white, slightly smaller than average Japanese Spitz.  She arrived in our home when I was ten, and passed away when I was 19, on the eve of a major accounting final exam (the exam which would determine whether one stays or gets kicked out in the program).  She only stayed in our veranda and her presence inside the house was a rare treat.  Patting her, though, was among the first things that I did when I’d get home.  I was not a hands-on dog-owner then (actually, if not for my hubby, I doubt if I’d be as “hands-on” as I am now too), but I cried the entire night when I received news of her passing.  My mom said that she passed away with her head against the door of the veranda – as if saying that she wanted to stay close to the family during her last moments.

Next we had Sparkie, a mongrel and two more Jap Spitz’s – the twins Maffy and Poochie.  Having been quite “heart-broken” with Twinkle’s loss and also because I lived away from my family na, I didn’t really interact with them, and wasn’t attached to them.

My mommygran, whom I used to live with, had mini-pinchers whom she’d always name, Raprap. (I have no idea to this date why that’s her favorite dog name) I didn’t really like those dogs. Haha.

Before Rufus and Snowie, though, another dog became close to my heart – Bruce, a toy poodle.  He was the dog of my hubby’s (then he was still my bf) kuya.  But since I’d have dinner in their place and spend Sunday afternoons with his family, I also got to fall in love with that dog.  Such a sweet, smart dog who passed away because of too much garapata.

A couple of months after hubby and I got married, we decided to get a dog, which we named Rufus.  A few months later, we got another one, Snowie…and the rest is now history.

These dogs are so attached to us.  They’d howl every time we leave the house, and they sleep beside us.  They wake us up every morning.  We bring them with us in our out-of-town road trips, and turn down prospective apartments, which are not pet friendly.  We buy expensive food for them and have them groomed once every two months (although hubby gives them a bath once a week).

The thing that amuses me most with these dogs is that they seem to understand us.  When I get home tired from work, andyan na sila, nakasalubong, waiting to be hugged. When I’m sad, they’d flock near me too.  There are times, as well, when they seem to smile (especially Snowie, promise, she smiles talaga).  They know the meaning of the words “Tara” (for them it means we’re going to another home or going downstairs na) and “Come” and take their poop in the veranda…to think we never really trained them talaga.  Amusing din how Snowie already knows if we’re near our house na.

Hubby and I are blessed to have these “babies”.  We know they’ll only be with us for 10 to 15 years (I really pray that they’ll last that long, or even longer), and when that difficult time comes, we just have to let go.  (ala-Marley and Me style).

Come to think of it, it’s probably not our dogs which are attached to us.  More like we’re the ones who are attached to them.

Leave a Reply

