post

what I don’t (didn’t / won’t) have, i don’t need anyway

in thankless moments, we tread the path towards a hardened heart, and head down the alley of self-destruction.

i was once more at the brink of thanklessness when a former office mate told me last night that thanklessness takes place when:
1. instead of focusing on God’s blessings, we compare ourselves (in my case, the path i have been led to) with others
2. we either focus on the past (and view it with regret or longing) or on the future (and resort to worry), thus forgetting the present. the present is a present, a gift from God. the present is a present we should enjoy, that we should thank God for.

thank God for speaking to me through that former office mate! šŸ™‚

this morning, i read in Psalm 23: “The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I need.” i was reminded that, since the Lord, the omniscient, omnipotent, omnipresent God, who created and is in control of the entire universe (and of my life) is my shepherd, He knows best and could readily provide what I need. He is a good shepherd…and for that I should be thankful, because He has always done His job (and excellently at that! if not, i wouldn’t be where i am, because i know without His favor, by myself, i do not deserve a lot of blessings). as for the things i didn’t / don’t / won’t have, I probably don’t need them anyway. they’re probably not for my good.

with such thoughts i could rest today, and always, knowing that, as one of my favorite hymn goes, “all i have needed, Thy hand hath provided, great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.”

great is His faithfulness indeed! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

