faith, Uncategorized

wag raw ningas-cogon

After having attended a three-day retreat, I simply felt so high and filled with the Holy Spirit. Today, I’m starting to notice some of my old habits (i.e. impatience, irritability, pride, tendency to compare myself with others, worry) are surfacing once more. Maybe of a lower intensity or degree compared to before, but still…should I be satisfied with that?

This afternoon, after my trip to BIR-National and CTA, while taking a break after arriving in the office, I read today’s “In Touch ith Dr. Charles Stanley” based on the following scriptural text from 1 Peter 1:13-16:

“So think clearly and exercise self-control. Look forward to the special blessings that will come to you at the return of Jesus Christ. Obey God because you are his children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of doing evil; you didn’t know any better then. But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God — who chose you to be his children — is holy. For he himself has said, “You must be holy because I am holy.”

Galing talaga! Seems like God is telling me, “wag kang ningas-cogon, my child. this is a marathon…you still have a long way to go, but I will be there to help you every step of the way.”

(I praise you for Your word, Lord. Thank You for encouraging me to press on and to focus on the eternal goal, so that I don’t slip back to my old ways. Please empower me with Your Holy Spirit, Lord because I do tend to get side-tracked most of the time…thank You, Lord, because You enable me to be victorious. Just a question, Lord, how can I think more clearly and exercise self-control? Please show me how. In Jesus’ name, amen.)

Leave a Reply

