Upon listening and reflecting on the lectures in…

Upon listening and reflecting on the lectures in yesterday’s  Post-Encounter sessions, I’ve realized that:

1.)  On Learning:

In Hebrew, learning something extends beyond acquisition of information but includes application of one’s learnings.  Thus, there are a lot of things which I haven’t really learned yet…and which I’m raring to learn (so help me, God).

2.)  On Meditation:

Meditation entails “muttering” or preaching to one’s self (pwede bang online? like through blogs, Lord?), and is different from reading.

I realized that I have not really been meditating on God’s word regularly and sufficiently.  I learned that all this time, I have been reading God’s word daily, but have only been irregularly meditating on it.

Henceforth, I shall change my habits by meditating on a verse (or a couple of verses).  I shall ponder on these day and night, as Joshua 1:8 urges me to do so).

3.)  On Worship:

Worship means to ascribe worth, or to tell the object of worship its worth.  To worship the Lord means to acknowledge who He is, ascribe to Him the thanks, praise and honor due Him, and to lay down crowns (that is if I’ve any already) at His feet.  To acknowledge that it’s all about Him, not about me; His will, not mine;  His ways, not mine.

Upon reflection, however, of what I’ve been doing, instead of praising, thanking and worshipping God sufficiently, I’ve been quite embroiled with matters of little (if none at all!) eternal consequence – such mundane matters!  No wonder, I’ve often felt defeated, bitter, proud and/or jealous.  But enough of that now.  I need to praise and worship God more.  No amount of reading about worship will make me a worshipper if I don’t actually get into the act and worship the Lord of Lords.

There are a lot of things to praise and thank God for.  As Psalm 106:1-2 says, “Praise the Lord!  Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good!  His faithful love endures forever.  Who can list the glorious miracles of the Lord?  Who can ever praise Him enough?”

4.)  Application:   Henceforth, there shall be changes in my quiet time with the Lord.  No exact formula, but this may serve as a template (at least for me):

  • Upon waking up, think of a thing that made me smile (i.e. blessings God gave me the day before) and thank God for it
  • Pray – Ask to be ushered into the Father’s presence, in Jesus’ name, through His Holy Spirit; ask God to speak to me through the song and the reading
  • Worship song – make use of the mp3s in my phone and laptop
  • One year bible reading for the day
  • Pause and just allow the Lord to rhema (to speak to my spirit) and to tell me which verse I should meditate on for the day (and night)
  • Post the verse as my facebook status message for the day (today’s status message: A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body; jealousy is like cancer in the bones. – Prov 14:30)
  • During the day (or at least in the evening), I should be able to later on blog about the verse.

Lord, I commit these next steps to You.  Please empower me to follow through, because I really want to follow You.  I have begun this today…may this blog entry serve as my covenant with You, Lord.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

