family ties, Witness

Sister Act

Earlier this evening, I caught a video of Alex Gonzaga passionately sharing about her faith in God in PBB. Seeing her do so inspired me to make the most out of every opportunity to share the reason for the hope that I profess, and to truly point others to the Lord. Yes, I may have already been doing the same, but I still find it lacking. I feel that I am still timid in sharing about the things God has been revealing about Himself, and I would like to change that. Certainly, He has not given me a spirit of fear or timidity, but only a spirit of power, of love and of a sound mind.

An hour ago, I came across the following verses in youversion:

Then on the following day, their magistrates and elders and scribes were assembled in Jerusalem, Including Annas the high priest and Caiaphas and John and Alexander and all others who belonged to the high priestly relationship. And they set the men in their midst and repeatedly demanded, By what sort of power or by what kind of authority did [such people as] you do this [healing]? Then Peter, [because he was] filled with [and controlled by] the Holy Spirit, said to them, Rulers of the people and members of the council (the Sanhedrin), If we are being put on trial [here] today and examined concerning a good deed done to benefit a feeble (helpless) cripple, by what means this man has been restored to health, Let it be known and understood by all of you, and by the whole house of Israel, that in the name and through the power and authority of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, Whom you crucified, [but] Whom God raised from the dead, in Him and by means of Him this man is standing here before you well and sound in body. This [Jesus] is the Stone which was despised and rejected by you, the builders, but which has become the Head of the corner [the Cornerstone]. [Ps. 118:22.] And there is salvation in and through no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by and in which we must be saved. Now when they saw the boldness and unfettered eloquence of Peter and John and perceived that they were unlearned and untrained in the schools [common men with no educational advantages], they marveled; and they recognized that they had been with Jesus. And since they saw the man who had been cured standing there beside them, they could not contradict the fact or say anything in opposition – Acts 4:5-14 (AMP) .

The following things struck me from the verses above, and got me to reflect on a few things:
1. Peter and John maximized were not intimidated by the questions of magistrates, elders and scribes because they were filled with and controlled by the Holy Spirit.
2. Due to their boldness and unfettered eloquence, the audience recognized that they had been with Jesus.
3. I am amazed with how God set the stage for them to have an audience. I know that  even the question posed by the scribes and pharisees was, unknown to them, planted by the Lord. We clearly see Romans 8:28 at work – how God causes all things to work for the good of those who love Him and were called according to His purpose.

Am I similarly constantly filled with and controlled by the Holy Spirit? I feel right now na kulang pa. I tend to be intimidated because I am not filled enough with the Holy Spirit. Every second in every circumstance regardless of the audience, I want to be controlled by Him. I want more, I need more, I hunger for more. How do I have more of Your Holy Spirit, Lord?

Do others recognize that I have been with Jesus? In the first place, do I spend enough time with Jesus? Enough for it to just overflow and effortlessly result into boldness and unfettered eloquence? I also feel right now na kulang pa. Holy Spirit, lead me to spend more intimate time with Jesus. Lord, I just want to receive from You more, cause me to overflow with boldness and unfettered eloquence to proclaim who You are, what You have done, and be an example / showcase of Your power and of who You are.

Lord give me the grace to spend more quality time with You. Impart what You want to me. Make me bold and eloquent for You.

—-

On another note, speaking of Alex Gonzaga again, I also got interested in watching youtube videos about her and her Ate Toni. Like Tony and Alex, who are the only siblings, both girls at that, my sister and I are also the only two children of my parents. Unlike them who consider one another as bestfriends, my relationshio with my sister is quite disfunctional.

Watching their interaction brought to fore another need / admission: I want a restored relationship with my sister (or even better than the one that we used to have); but I don’t know where to start. Yes, my sister is very much a character, I realize that I haven’t exactly been the most responsible and loving ate in the world. I am ashamed of my selfishness and immaturity to handle her, of my seeming callousedness. Probably, from her viewpoint, I don’t look like one who has been with Jesus. She refuses to see, but I do love her and want only the best for her. I just don’t know how to reach out to her.

Lord, I admit that my relationship with my sister is in shambles, and I have no clue where to start. I repent for selfishness, irresponsibility, and not loving enough. Lord, I just ask for Your grace regarding this. In Your name, Jesus, I renounce and rebuke strife that has come between us. I lift up my sister to You (may she also develop sweet intimacy with You), as well as my relationship with her. Help me to see her through Your eyes, and as You fill me with Your Holy Spirit, teach me too, how to treat her in love, and what to say to her to help bridge the gap between us. In Your name, Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

