He’s Been Faithful

Related to my viber exchanges with my friend Ruby last night, is the devotional that I just got in my mailbox. Copy-pasting it below…it’s so in point with God’s revelations to me yesterday (and today).

I saw the tissue cross match results today. I was praying and crying while crying out to God while driving when this song entitled, “He’s Always Been Faithful”, which features a portion of the hymn “Great is Thy Faithfulness” played in the background (thanks, Spotify!) and just floored me. As I listened to it repeatedly, I was reminded of how God has showed Himself strong, faithful and good to me through the years. If He took me through those dark nights, holding my hand [like when my parents fought a lot during their marriage, (contributing factor behind the development of some insecurities), until my dad died, followed by a decade-long quest for identity and stability, which I believe ended when God gave me a revelation about thankfulness, as in ceasing to grumble, and the meaning of experiencing Him as Lord], how much more can He get me through all this. Those times, He taught me that He was more than enough…why should it be any different now? (And with that realization, I feel the joy of my salvation revitalized anew). His faithfulness is greater than the seeming delay (key word: seeming) in the fulfillment of some promises in the natural as regards having children and landing suitable job (no more underemployment!).

image

Yes, not giving up for these reasons:

For God’s gifts and His call are irrevocable. [He never withdraws them when once they are given, and He does not change His mind about those to whom He gives His grace or to whom He sends His call.] – Romans 11:29 (AMP)

“I see what you’ve done. Now see what I’ve done. I’ve opened a door before you that no one can slam shut. You don’t have much strength, I know that; you used what you had to keep my Word. You didn’t deny me when times were rough. – Rev 3:8 (MSG)

All I have needed, Thy hand have provided. Great is Thy Faithfulness, Lord unto me. You have never failed me before, and You won’t fail me now.

Indeed, God’s faithfulness extends to all generations (Incidentally, I learned a few years back from my aunt that my paternal grandmother’s favorite hymn was “Great is Thy Faithfulness”).

—–
HE’S BEEN FAITHFUL
By Julie Ackerman Link

Your faithfulness endures to all generations. —Psalm 119:90

Jim and Carol Cymbala prayed and praised and preached their way through a personal 2-year nightmare. Their teenage daughter Chrissy had turned her back on the God they loved and served so faithfully. Although their hearts were breaking, Jim and Carol continued ministering to the people of the Brooklyn Tabernacle in New York City.

Some people think that Carol wrote the song “He’s Been Faithful” after her daughter’s dramatic return to God, but she didn’t. She wrote it before. Carol refers to it as “a song of hope born in the midst of my pain.” While hurting deeply, Carol said that her song “became like a balm to my heart, strengthening me once again.” The words she wrote during that time helped her to move forward. Although her daughter had not yet come back to the Lord, Carol could praise Him for His loving faithfulness in her own life.

Later, when Chrissy showed up at home and fell to her knees begging forgiveness, the truth of Psalm 119:90 became real to Carol: God is faithful not just to our generation, but to all generations! Carol also experienced in a new way a line of her own song that has blessed so many: “What I thought was impossible, I’ve seen my God do!”

When we have nothing left but God, we find that God is enough.

Leave a Reply

