career, faith

Press On

One of the dangers of focusing too much on the promise (and not on the promiser), is losing one’s grit once the promise is fulfilled.

A few weeks ago, I was too focused on praying about my circumstances at work. Now, praise God that He has given me something grand to thank Him for – the Jollibee Senior Tax Manager post. I had been rejoicing so much last week, though the rejoicing was tempered by a difficult resignation (wow, the most difficult ever! And I pray that will be my last…certainly after that one, I never want to resign again!l

Today, when I woke up, it was another one of those days when I didn’t feel like having anything to wake up for (I have been wondering why I have been feeling that way a lot more often since I was on the verge of resigning from QT). I rebuke that feeling or whatever is causing it, in Jesus’ name!!!

Anyway, today’s scriptural text (Philippians 13) from the Smith Wigglesworth devotional spoke to me:

Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I  do,  forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 3:12-14 NKJV

What has Jesus laid hold of me for? (Or why did he lay hold of me?) It is the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Hence, I should not be distracted both with good or bad things, which are merely temporal.

When we get to enthralled with the world, we tend to forget that our true citizenship is in heaven. Let it not be so for me or you.

Abba Father, thank You for calling my attention. I have been distracted, Lord, forgive me. With my gaze focused on You and Your heavenly call, I will walk through this day, this week. Thank You for not letting my heart go astray, and for calling my attention at this first instance. Let me not be desensitized to Your Word and the ways of Your Spirit. Soften my heart before You.

Lord, this coming month, I have no sweldo, and I am a bit worried. At the same time, Mike and I had been talking more about a house. Father, I give those concerns to You. I do not want them nor the desire for a child nor career concerns nor any worldly thing to consume me. May You alone consume me…a passion for You and Your ways. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

