intimacy, worship

Be thou my vision

Tonight, thanks to a chat re: Victoria Osteen’s controversial statements on the pulpit, I was led to remember one of my favorite hymns, Be thou my vision.

I”ve known this hymn probably since I was 11; however, upon singing and meditating on the lyrics this evening, I realize that the hymn has taken on a richer meaning. In fact, right now, parang this hymn really sums up the prayers and cries of my heart (esp the portions in bold font; my side comments are italicized):

Be Thou my vision, O Lord of my heart; (yes, constantly, Lord. Let nothing distract me from focus on You. Allow me to gaze at You, Lord forever)

Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;

Thou my best thought, by day or by night; (consume my thoughts, Lord. Consume every part of my being. Burn away the draws and the chaff, as You must)

Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my wisdom, and Thou my true Word; (You are my wisdom, Lord…may the words that come out of my mouth be full of You)

I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;

Thou my great Father and I, Thy true son;

Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one. (yes, Lord, more and more of this)

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise; (let me not be distracted by these. Hence, the accolades I received from my teams and colleagues, I give back, all back to You. Yes, Lord, You are the rightful owner of my first fruits)

Thou mine inheritance, now and always;

Thou and Thou only, first in my heart;

O King of glory, my treasure Thou art. (yes, You alone are my heart’s treasure, my heart’s desire. I still marvel at how it came to this…thank You, Lord, for just causing me to fall more and more in love with You)

O King of glory, my victory won; (yes, Lord, i rest in Your finished work. I claim Your victory)

Rule and reign in me ’til Thy will be done;

Heart of my own heart, whatever befall; (such a beautiful imagery of intimacy with You…heart of my own heart…Lord, may my heart be after Your heart always. Give me Your heart…make me love what You love, hate what You hate…whatever befall – for I don’t know what the future holds, but You do…so I just look to You)

Still be my vision, O Ruler of all. ruler of ALL. Yes, You are sovereign over ALL)

Here’s the <a href="http://youtu.be/6CMclLT_Hjg“>youtube link of a version that I really like:

—–

Ikaw lang, Lord. Ikaw lang. *tears*

Leave a Reply

