Today, We Fight!

Unlike my husband, I am not a morning person. I don’t think I can call myself an evening person either. Haha. I’m more like a bear – I can hibernate and sleep all day, even if it means skipping some meals.

I developed this penchant for hibernation in my “dark years” (3rd to 5th year in law school), when I was depressed, confused and lost. I slept a lot because I didn’t feel so lost and regretful of past choices in my sleep. Back then, I used to have dreamless sleep. In the past few years, however, since I encountered that verse in Joel and prayed for the Lord to speak to me through dreams (which are affirmed by verses and/or meditations that I would later on encounter), I began to like sleeping for a different reason (other than sleeping being fun and restful).

Yet since yesterday, I’ve been waking up consistently at 5am (with or without the alarm), and I know that it’s not my doing. I guess this is not a season for sleeping.

While I typically used to wake up with a grumpy mood (because I want to sleep some more), I find myself waking up to a song in mind. This morning (and last night), the song God placed in my heart was “Through It All”.

You are forever in my life
You see me through the seasons
Cover me with Your hands
And lead me to Your righteousness
And I look to You
And I wait on You
I’ll sing to You, Lord a hymn of love
For Your faithfulness to me
I’m carried in everlasting arms
You’ll never let me go
Through it all

As I sang in my mind and heart, I felt every word. Remembering just how graciously God deals with and sustains me (us) each day this “weird” season just makes my heart well up with gratitude.
image

Then, through the following verses, the Lord affirmed what He has been doing in our lives.

All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. It is by his great mercy that we have been born again, because God raised Jesus Christ from the dead. Now we live with great expectation, and we have a priceless inheritance—an inheritance that is kept in heaven for you, pure and undefiled, beyond the reach of change and decay. And through your faith, God is protecting you by his power until you receive this salvation, which is ready to be revealed on the last day for all to see. So be truly glad. There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you must endure many trials for a little while. These trials will show that your faith is genuine. It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold—though your faith is far more precious than mere gold. So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world. You love him even though you have never seen him. Though you do not see him now, you trust him; and you rejoice with a glorious, inexpressible joy. The reward for trusting him will be the salvation of your souls. – 1 Peter 1:3-9 NLT

In the past 3 weeks, it appears that we’re not the only ones undergoing one test after another. A number of brethren in Jesus seem to be undergoing tests, as well. Last week, the mother of my most favorite celebrity passed away (I wiĺl always be a Sharonian). Over the weekend, a friend underwent a harrowing experience in a foreign country. (God held him by the hand throughout the experience). Yesterday, I read on FB about the passing of Myles Munroe, his wife, daughter and ministry team. (His book “Advancing the Kingdom” changed my organizational church paradigm into a kingdom mindset.) His remaining family definitely need comfort. Today, my husband and I also learned about his boss’s back-to-back ailments. (Healing be hers, in Jesus’ name!) This week, the Tacloban City mayor, husband of a new friend is bearing the brunt of undeserved flak from a shady figure. (I need to avert my eyes from the nega talk!).  Then I learned that one of my husband’s kabarkadas in HS (also the brother of a sister in Christ), has been battling hydrocephalus.

Tests one after the other…one could tell that the enemy is extra frantic these days. (Perhaps he senses that a widespread revival is indeed at hand). In his myopic view, he fails to see that the Lord will always be several steps ahead. God always uses these unpleasantries (is that even a word?) to refine our faith, to work things for our good, and of course, for His glory!
image

And so we fight the good fight of faith! This is not the time for slumber. We need to be attuned to the Lord’s direction.

By our faith, God protects us with His power until our salvation is complete. Ergo, amidst increasing tests, we gain increasingly refined faith plus bonus honor in heaven…we get to delight our Father’s eyes! And what He delights on, all the more that He’ĺl love gazing at. With His eye on us, I believe, increasing protection follows because the tests also drive us to press in deeper into God’s presence. In His presence, we have a shelter and fortress. Consequently, no weapon formed against us shall prosper when we are in Jesus.
image

As our hearts’ frequencies are finetuned to be more attuned towards God, revelation begets revelation. Through revelation, we can comprehend more of God’s love and respond by loving him back. To love and know Him by revelation…such that when He comes again, we’ll recognize Him through His revelation in our hearts, as well…what a hopeful, joyful thought!

And so, yes, I’ve just been through a lot. But unlike how I was wrongly feeling a few days ago, I am not alone. I’ve never been alone. Never will be.

image

People ask how I’m doing now. With all my heart, because of what God has done, I say, “I’ve never been better.”

Leave a Reply

