About Me

From the Inside Out

Senti Sabado! A HS batchmate shared the photo on the left today. The photo on the right was taken yesterday. Thank God I grew up!!! Hahaha.

image

Seriously, I used to have very low self-confidence and thought I was ugly. Out of self-pity I’d cry as I compared myself with almost every girl in school, thinking that they were all prettier than me. I guess it shows in the left photo.

Only a revelation that God loves me so much that Jesus gave His life for me, that I was made in His image and likeness and that I am beautiful especially in His eyes changed me – first from the inside then flowing to the outside (I hope it’s obvious that the change flowed to the outside. Haha).

Occasionally, the old thoughts would still cross my mind, but now I know that they’re lies. Sometimes, admittedly, I’d swing to the other end of the pendulum and succumb to narcissism. But by God’s grace, I cling to the truth in His word – I am.beautiful because He made me in His image and likeness, and the more time I spend time with Him, the more I behold Him, and grow in Christlikeness, the more I become beautiful – changed from glory to glory. It’s a beauty though that’s not my own, such that I cannot boast, for I merely radiate His beauty. Such a nice perk of drawing even more closer to Him, right?

And all of us, as with unveiled face, [because we] continued to behold [in the Word of God] as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being transfigured into His very own image in ever increasing splendor and from one degree of glory to another; [for this comes] from the Lord [Who is] the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:18

Cheers to growing in God’s grace! 🙂

Leave a Reply

