Uncategorized

Be Still, Go Back to Basics

There are times (like now) that I feel alone and lonely in my frustrations, as if the Lord has forsaken me. As I tell Him how I feel by writing this, the Holy Spirit reminds me that Jesus, Himself, feeling forsaken, cried out to the Father, “my God, my God, why have You forsaken me?” It then dawned on me that God knows and is able to empathize with how I feel.

Further, I am reminded that the truth was that the Father did not forsake Jesus, and neither has He forsaken me. Just as He was looking on lovingly, painstakingly at Jesus as He hung on the tree, He is similarly gazing at me now. Lovingly, feeling the pain that I had been feeling too, for whatever I may be feeling now, Jesus felt so much more.

Jesus and the Father knew, amidst the pain, that Jesus hung on that tree for a reason. He did so for me and the whole world. It was the great exchange…His beauty for ashes, His joy for sadness, yes even for my sadness…that I may enjoy abundant life, life to the full. Nothing is random in and with God, nothing purely coincidental. And so it is with my circumstances. I was allowed to undergo what I did for a redemptive reason, that I know.

And even if there weren’t a reason as redemptive as I hope it to be, I know it will be worked out for my good. For God said so. He promised that He works all things for the good of those who love Him, and are called according to His purpose. This I know for certain, for He has affirmed this countless times in my life: He loves me, and He has called me, according to His countless good thoughts about me, according to His plans to prosper me and to give me a hope and a future.

Being reminded of all this has given a surge of comfort to my soul, comfort that God alone can give. Perhaps this is the way He makes His embrace felt by people who are hurting, who experience the pain of unanswered questions. He beckons, as we cry out to Him, “Hush, my child, let me dry your tears with My embrace. Let me still your heart with My Presence, for I am your Shalom, your Prince of Peace. Know that I love You, I have died for you, I live in you and am always with you. In time, You will receive the answers…for as you gaze at me, I will cause you to see, through My eyes, with My heart. Just look to me now, and receive my love and comfort. Be secure in my embrace. For I am your God. I am your Abba. I am good and merciful. And my heart is filled with love for you.”

Suddenly, I now cease to feel alone. While others may not fully grasp how I feel, God does and the beauty of it is that He’s the only One who can truly do something about my situations. So for now, my soul, be still and know that the Lord understands and He is moving, whether or not I see it.

image

The Lord will guide you continually, And satisfy your soul in drought, And strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.
– Isaiah 58:11 NKJV

Leave a Reply

