Secure in the Lord

Severely insecure in my pre-teen and teen-aged years, the Lord opened my eyes to the reality of His love. I remember the exact moments how the Lord told me that Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross was for me, as I was viewing the crucifixion scene of a Holy Week special called “The Answer”. A bit later, I was able to open my Bible to Romans 8, where the following verses tugged at my heart. 

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:37‭-‬39 NKJV

The Lord then got me started on a loooooong process (which I’m still on), wherein He told me that I am beautiful, because I am made in His image and likeness. He then assured me that I am not a mistake, as He knew me even before I was formed in my mother’s womb and that He has called me for a purpose, with only plans to prosper me and give me a hope and a future. 

Every now and then, thoughts of insignificance still strike. Each time, He’d bring me back to that place, assuring me of His love, reminding me of His track record of faithfulness and love in my life. In those times, when the enemy whispers lies of how I am less anointed than others and do not have a significant purpose or role in God’s Kingdom, and lack esteem in the eyes of both God and men, encouraging reminders such as the one below come in handy. 

This is my prayer for myself: may I see myself as He sees me: His precious, beloved daughter…the daughter of the King. 

He has called me to be an ambassador for His Kingdom (fulfilling my aspirations of being a diplomat! Haha). He has called me to be a watchman and intercessor (fulfilling my desire to be a negotiator – I am to “negotiate” before the Lord to manifest His glory in situations), giving me authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and arming me with weapons of His word, with His spirit upon and with me. He has called me to kneel and bow before His throne and give Him the alabaster jar of my pedigree, talents, hopes, dreams and regrets and wipe His feet with my crowning glories – the highest calling there ever is. Yes, I am not insignificant. I have the mind of Christ, and He has given me a spirit of power, of love and of a sound mind. 

I am secure in the Lord. Yes, even in moments when I feel so hidden, I am secure in the Lord.

 

One thought on “Secure in the Lord

Leave a Reply

