Uncategorized

No Vainglory

I woke up to a dream, where I was talking with a sorority sister, a junior partner in her firm, who said that in it is very important to get good junior associates. She pointed out how it was important for the bottom and the top to be really good, the ones in the middle, you can afford for them to be not as good. In the dream, I remember my pride being hurt, as I thought, so my skills and aptitude didn’t matter after all.  I was asking if it was feasible to be treated as a junior associate for some matters, where I still needed to learn. 

I think the dream connects with youversion’s verse for the day. Wow, I certainly got a rebuke here. 

From a different version: 

Do nothing from factional motives [through contentiousness, strife, selfishness, or for unworthy ends] or prompted by conceit and empty arrogance. Instead, in the true spirit of humility (lowliness of mind) let each regard the others as better than and superior to himself [thinking more highly of one another than you do of yourselves]. Let each of you esteem and look upon and be concerned for not [merely] his own interests, but also each for the interests of others. – Philippians 2:3‭-‬4 AMPC

And yet another version still:

If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care — then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand. – Philippians 2:1‭-‬4 MSG

God, You know the real me, You see my heart and You know that I struggle with this. It’s very subtle, Lord, but I know You would have none of it. I think this is what You’re teaching me this season, because I do get a lot of “hiddenness”. So how do I do this, Lord?

And just like that, the Lord answered me with this:

Look to Me as your focus

Purify my heart with Your most precious blood. Empower me with Your dunamis power so I can walk this out in humility. Change me, Lord. Only in You, Lord, can I have the perfect balance: God-confidence and delighting in You alone. No vain glory whatsoever. And even if my opinions get shot down, I die to self re: that, that You may live.  Lord, I need Your grace. I need Your grace to be truly humble. Holy Spirit, help me shift the gaze of my heart’s eyes to Jesus each time it wanders away.  In Jesus’ name, amen. 

https://open.spotify.com/track/0XfSjrzjQ6IVEu7n5dLdWS

Leave a Reply

