aSCRIBE, Women of Wonder

I write because…

I purchased this book via Kindle this morning, and I couldn’t put it down. While in between tasks, I couldn’t help but devour it. 

Through this book, like a fresh breeze, the Lord answered my perennial question: why am I here?

For years, I have been asking, inquiring of the Lord about my specific purpose and calling. Imagine the joy in my spirit when through a word, the Lord speaks settling the matter. 

In the next few days, I shall be reflecting on these, with the prayer: reveal my scribal purpose to me, Lord. I’ve taken the liberty of highlighting phrases that struck me. 

On Purpose 1, it is no coincidence that God revealed my purpose through WoW. I truly believe that He has a great move for women that has just begun. Tales upon tales of wonders need to be chronicled, not just for historical purposes, but also to enable other similar groups to find us (and vice-versa), especially in this digital age.
On purpose 2, this gave me the shivers. Isn’t it just so uncanny that I turned out to be a lawyer who doesn’t litigate, but primarily deals with contracts and negotiations – a solicitor, in common law jurisdictions. To think I almost gave up on my profession, not too long ago, if not for the break that was recently ushered in, and words that God will use my career as a platform. I still await the fruition of such word.
On purpose 3, as a child, I was just so drawn to making a family tree for our clan. I’ve already created an online family tree for my Dad’s maternal side. Actually, I am the custodian of a book of names of my ascendants from my Dad’s paternal side of the family. I need to get it from my Mom’s house and digitize it’s contents. I’ve been planning to do so for some time now, but now, I feel inspired to work on this project again. I think I also need to work on one for my Mom’s side of the family
Purpose 5 is really why I write…I do not want to forget the things God has shown and dealt with me. I realize, I’ve been doing this unconsciously since I was 11. I thank God for WordPress which easily allows me to look back on His track record of faithfulness in my life. Though there are seasons when I’d either rather write on a physical journal or another digital format. But those, I’ve kinda lost track of. With this revelation, I hope to mine from those writings, for purposes of encouraging other women (and men, if they want to read), as well
On Purpose 6, I believe this, combined with Purposes 1 and 2, is something I’m called to do for and through WoW. šŸ˜Š
Purpose 5 and 8 are so interconnected. Come to think of it, most of the time, my writings are accounts on what I’ve seen, experienced and dreamt of
On Purpose 10, the word “orderly” just jumps out of the page. I think this is why I have categorized my digital files since 2000. This may be the reason, as well, why I feel drawn towards more than one translation of the Bible…there’s this desire to know: what is the Lord really saying here? Also, I realized this is probably why I feel challenged when an assignment enables me to help inject order. This is actually what I like about being a lawyer.

Having gone through the exercise above, I realized: it was there all along…my purpose, but there just seemed to be a veil covering it, mainly because I undermined its significance. Turns out, however, that it is significant to the Father, after all. I realized as well that such over-arching purpose unifies most of my experiences, tendencies and passions – things that come naturally to me…because that’s how God made me. Wonderfully and fearfully at that.

Perhaps these resonate with you, as well.  Perhaps you have felt led to write and have been struggling with your sense of purpose too. I pray that such struggling cease. The prayer below is a prayer I pray for myself and for you, as well. Let us discover this gift together. Come, journey with me. ā¤

On this note, I decided to change the privacy settings of my blog to make it searchable. No longer will I hide, because I know God has something to tell someone out there through something that I’m led to write. No need to be timid about this.

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control. – 2 Timothy 1:7 AMPC

Leave a Reply

