Resist the Familiar

When I read this article from Charisma Magazine, the following excerpt struck me:

“This spirit is so skillful it will use you as a pawn and a puppet on a string, prohibiting you from detecting its hand upon you and the strings that manipulate you. Working with familiar spirits, who act as their reconnaissance, informing them of breaks in hedges of protection, strengths, weaknesses and proclivities of both the perpetrator and victim, its plan is a well-thought-out plan.” – 

The Sneaky Spirit of Sabotage Is Seeking to Destroy You — Charisma Magazine

It made me recall the familiar spirit that appeared to our WoW leader and vision keeper, purporting to be me. I declare that this spirit has been exposed and brought under the Light of Christ. 

I am prayerfully submitting this to the Lord (and to our leader and vision keeper, as well), as I do not want to be used by the enemy for anything. I am realizing now that such vision was a warning and reminder given for me through her. It is a reminder to constantly submit to ultimate authority, who is God, and the earthly authorities He has given, such as my bosses in the natural, Ella (in this Kingdom work), as well as FTS (in my secular job).

I surrender to God anew and make myself open to the Holy Spirit’s rebukes. I guess there should be extra care on my part (and everyone’s for that matter) that the enemy should not be able to use anything as an entry point…especially since the assignment on hand is big…truly a God vision. 

On that note, if the enemy can’t use me, he may want to make use of someone else who has had tendencies for pride, rebellion, selfish ambition and/or fear. But to us, we should remember: we are to behold Christ and remember our true identity in Him, as new creations in Christ. The old has gone, the new has come! I guess this is also a call for intercession not just for myself and our leader, but also for the group.  

I can’t say that I have no ounce of fear, at all, but as I submitted even my fear to the Lord, the Holy Spirit reminded me of these verses:

But He gives us more and more grace (power of the Holy Spirit, to meet this evil tendency and all others fully). That is why He says, God sets Himself against the proud and haughty, but gives grace [continually] to the lowly (those who are humble enough to receive it). [Prov. 3:34.] So be subject to God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him], and he will flee from you. Come close to God and He will come close to you. [Recognize that you are] sinners, get your soiled hands clean; [realize that you have been disloyal] wavering individuals with divided interests, and purify your hearts [of your spiritual adultery]. [As you draw near to God] be deeply penitent and grieve, even weep [over your disloyalty]. Let your laughter be turned to grief and your mirth to dejection and heartfelt shame [for your sins]. Humble yourselves [feeling very insignificant] in the presence of the Lord, and He will exalt you [He will lift you up and make your lives significant]. [My] brethren, do not speak evil about or accuse one another. He that maligns a brother or judges his brother is maligning and criticizing the Law and judging the Law. But if you judge the Law, you are not a practicer of the Law but a censor and judge [of it]. – James 4:6‭-‬11 AMPC

Indeed, Jesus in me and His grace, working in my (and anyone’s) heart and life is greater, more than able to overcome any and every evil tendency. 

Continuous and continual submission to Him is key so that the enemy will flee. Submission to God yields humility, which enables us to receive more of His grace. Practicing His grace is crucial, so we do not take the judgment seat, which belongs to God alone. 
In the throne room earlier, as well, the Lord reminded me of how His perfect love casts out all fear. As I submit myself to Him and His ways, His perfect love overpowers, overcomes and casts out any fear. 

Abba Father, I draw close to You. Draw me even closer. Lord, I recognize tendencies borne out of moments of not submitting to You. There should be no pretense of submission, but only authentic submission of my heart before You. Forgive me for any sort or form of spiritual adultery, even in the form of being enamoured by the calling that You give. Now I know why You did not reveal it to me before…it would break me. Thank You for revealing it to me in the context of community. Lord, I repent and return to a posture of insignificance and nothingness before You. I ask for your grace, Lord. I need it. I need You. 

—-

I was typing all of that on my way to church…and as soon as we arrived in church, we walk in just in time to hear God’s message of assurance of forgiveness and deliverance during worship:

I declare:

I shall not be afraid. For I know who I have believed. Nothing is impossible for You. You hold my world in Your hands. 

You are my escape. I find my rest in You, Jesus. Thank You for crushing my enemies…for giving me deliverance upon deliverance…escape and rest! 

Blessed be the Lord, Who bears our burdens and carries us day by day, even the God Who is our salvation! Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! God is to us a God of deliverances and salvation; and to God the Lord belongs escape from death [setting us free]. But God will shatter the heads of His enemies, the hairy scalp of such a one as goes on still in his trespasses and guilty ways. The Lord said, I will bring back [your enemies] from Bashan; I will bring them back from the depths of the [Red] Sea, That you may crush them, dipping your foot in blood, that the tongues of your dogs may have their share from the foe. They see Your goings, O God, even the [solemn processions] of my God, my King, into the sanctuary [in holiness]. – Psalm 68:19‭-‬24 AMPC

After that reminder of deliverance, the Lord, through today’s exhortation in church reminded me of the rhema downloaded by God in relation to Jure Regalia during the WoW retreat:

This is the day of God possibilities, that His promises will be seen. Today, we have hope that cannot disappoint. Let’s focus on God’s promises for us because this is the day. 

#rightfocus

Do not be afraid, only believe and keep on believing. 

One thought on “Resist the Familiar

Leave a Reply

