Inner Healing, reflections

A Heart Check and Cleanse

Just as the physical heart requires maintenance and regular check-up, so do our mind and heart, where our soul takes up residence. When we become calloused, critical and thoughts of starting to view ourselves as better begin to enter our mind, it is time for a heart-check. Only our Divine Doctor who can do a supernatural xray can truly assess the well-being of our hearts and minds. And so to Him, we pray:

God, investigate my life; get all the facts firsthand. I’m an open book to you; even from a distance, you know what I’m thinking. You know when I leave and when I get back; I’m never out of your sight. You know everything I’m going to say before I start the first sentence. I look behind me and you’re there, then up ahead and you’re there, too— your reassuring presence, coming and going. This is too much, too wonderful— I can’t take it all in! – Psalm 139:1‭-‬6 MSG

Our hearts are known to Him; they cannot escapt His eyes. He knows the root of why we act, speak and think the way we do. Before Him, putting on false selves is a futile exercise. 

“The heart is hopelessly dark and deceitful, a puzzle that no one can figure out. But I, God , search the heart and examine the mind. I get to the heart of the human. I get to the root of things. I treat them as they really are, not as they pretend to be.” – Jeremiah 17:9‭-‬10 MSG

Thankfully our God does not only perform diagnostics, but He also supplies the medicine.

Investigate my life, O God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong— then guide me on the road to eternal life. – Psalm 139:23‭-‬24 MSG

He also gives guidelines for preventive maintenance: to seek Him and inquire of Him as our first and vital necessity.

And you, Solomon my son, know the God of your father [have personal knowledge of Him, be acquainted with, and understand Him; appreciate, heed, and cherish Him] and serve Him with a blameless heart and a willing mind. For the Lord searches all hearts and minds and understands all the wanderings of the thoughts. If you seek Him [inquiring for and of Him and requiring Him as your first and vital necessity] you will find Him; but if you forsake Him, He will cast you off forever! – 1 Chronicles 28:9 AMPC

Thankfully, He does not leave us alone to fend for ourselves after having searched our hearts. His Holy Spirit within us reminds us that we can always draw near to the Father’s throne of grace in repentance. We can plead for the blood of Jesus and be washed by His living Word. 

And He Who searches the hearts of men knows what is in the mind of the [Holy] Spirit [what His intent is], because the Spirit intercedes and pleads [before God] in behalf of the saints according to and in harmony with God’s will. [Ps. 139:1, 2.] – Romans 8:27 AMPC

He assures us of pardon and empowers us by His grace to walk anew in the Spirit. 

And such blessed assurance there is, after a heart check and cleanse. There is a different lightness and peace of heart, making it easier to breathe even. Such lightness and peace enables us to flow in rest, with a quiet heart wholly leaning on our Lord once more. 

Indeed, we cannot be righteous by ourselves. We cannot even know the state of our hearts by ourselves and neither can we find a way out by ourselves as well. But Jesus has made a way, thank God! Only by and through Jesus are we righteous…only by His grace, so that no one can boast. This salvation is indeed blessed, wonderful…truly awesome, as our God is awesome. Praise Him whose lovingkindness and mercy endure forever!

Leave a Reply

